David Clark Little, harpsichord

Suite No. 11 in D minor 												George Frideric Handel (1685 - 1759)
    Allemande  -  Courante  -  Sarabande  -  Gigue

Fantasia in A major													G. F. Handel

Air & variations "The Harmonious Blacksmith" (from Suite No. 5 in E major) 	G. F. Handel

Chromatic Fantasy & Fugue in D minor (BWV 903)						Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750)

***********     intermission     ***********

Sonata K 524 in F Major												Domenico Scarlatti (1685 - 1757)

Sonata K 525 in F Major												D. Scarlatti

Sonata K 54 in A Minor												D. Scarlatti

Sonata K 460 in C Major											D. Scarlatti

Sonata K 461 in C Major											D. Scarlatti

Italian Concerto in F Major (BWV 971)									J.S. Bach


Program duration: 90 min., including brief talks introducing the pieces and intermission.
George Frideric Handel, Johann Sebastian Bach, and Domenico Scarlatti were all born the same year, 1685. Their music represents the culmination of the magnificent Baroque Period of music history, and a high point of western culture. This program presents some of their best-known and loved works.

Return to Harpsichord Homepage